Good. Fresh. Local.

The GFL (Good. Fresh. Local.) University of Nebraska–Lincoln Sustainable Food Project

The GFL program began in September 2005 and is a very popular local dining program with students and the UNL community. This program defines 'local' as food that comes from Nebraska farmers, producers, and manufacturers.

The GFL program is built on a foundation that:
  • Serves traditional menu items that promote the value of local food
  • Educates students about sustainable agriculture and the positive impact it has on the environment, local economy and communities
  • Provides a new distribution opportunity for local farmers and producers in the world of university food service
The GFL project was created by the following team members:
  • Nebraska Cooperative Development Center
  • Nebraska farmers, producers and manufacturers
  • The Food Processing Center
  • The Nebraska Sustainable Agriculture Society
  • University Dining Services
  • University of Nebraska–Lincoln students

The GFL program features special monthly meals at Cather and East Campus Union Dining Centers and incorporates individual GFL menu items on a daily basis. In addition, the Catering Department offers GFL menus and a few GFL items are offered at Abel/Sandoz, Harper and Selleck Dining Centers.

If you have any questions about the GFL Project, contact Pam Edwards, Assistant Director – University Dining Services, at 402-472-9045 or pedwards1@unl.edu.

2017–18 GFL Meal Dates

Cather Dining

DayDateMeal
Wednesday September 13, 2017 Dinner
Wednesday October 11, 2017 Lunch
Thursday November 9, 2017 Thanksgiving Dinner
Wednesday December 6, 2017 Holiday Dinner
Wednesday January 24, 2018 Dinner
Wednesday February 14, 2018 Dinner
Wednesday March 14, 2018 TBD
Wednesday April 11, 2018 TBD

East Campus Union Café & Grill

DayDateMeal
Wednesday September 13, 2017 Lunch
Wednesday October 18, 2017 Lunch
Wednesday November 15, 2017 Lunch
Wednesday December 13, 2017 Lunch
Wednesday January 17, 2018 Lunch
Wednesday February 14, 2018 Lunch
Wednesday March 14, 2018 Lunch
Thursday April 19, 2018 Lunch